Meet the Directors

Camp Directors, Ted and Judy Risch, have attended Camp PARC for the past 46 consecutive years, both of them beginning their volunteer service at Camp PARC as junior high school students in 1966.

Uncle Ted and Aunt Judy know every aspect of camp operations from first-hand experience. Having been involved since the early years of Camp PARC's existence, they continue to share their love of the special campers with the young people who serve as counselors. Together they strive to create a special "family" environment that is truly unique. Serving as directors since 1980, Uncle Ted and Aunt Judy oversee every detail of the camp operation and strive to make this week an unsurpassed camping experience for both the special campers and the volunteer staff who come to serve them.

Ted Risch is an elementary teacher at the North Star Elementary School in Boswell, PA, for the past 37 years, where he teaches Computer Technology. Judy, now retired, was an elementary teacher in the Conemaugh Township School District in Davidsville, PA, for 35 years.

Together this couple has always enjoyed sharing the Camp PARC experience with not only their students, but with their family as well. Today, their children and even their grandchildren enjoy working together at Camp PARC. The couple takes pride in what they have achieved during their summer vacations...a premier family-oriented summer camping experience for the mentally challenged filled with lots of friendship and love.

In 2015, the Risches celebrated their 50th year of volunteer service to Camp PARC. A pavilion is being built at Laurel Hill State Park in their honor. Contributions, in honor of Ted and Judy towards the pavilion, can be made through the Community Foundation for the Alleghenies to the Camp PARC Forever Friends Fund or online. The pavilion is slated to be constructed in June 2016. 


Board of Trustees

Roger Birkhimer
Maxine Cullen
Sue Gaffron, Secretary
Tara Gearhart, Treasurer
Melinda Wingard Miller, Vice President
Dustin Riley
Phillip Smakula
Doris Thomas
Dave Worst
Sarah Risch Wallace, President